Collections work on versions, a new version is created every time you publish the collection.
What happens when a collection is changed?
If you need to make a change to a collection be aware that any users who have already completed the collection will not get the updates you make to the collection.
This includes, but is not limited to:
- Adding a new course to a collection
- Adding/updating a certificate on the collection
- Adding a Next Collection
Any user who is registered or in progress will automatically be moved to the new version of the collection and will receive your updates made. The one exception to this is changing the collection to have a forced order.
If you update your collection to have a forced order when it originally did not then all users in the collection, no matter their status, will still have access to all of the courses previously shared with them.
If you would like to remove users from courses they shouldn't have access to yet follow these steps.
Remember: once you remove a user from a course their progress data is deleted - so all users will need to redo the course if they gain access through the forced order of a collection after being removed from the course.
How can I ensure users get the updates made to the collection
Usually the best way to do this is to create a new collection and start from fresh. If the user has already completed the courses they will not be required to complete them again unless you remove them from those courses.
If you are adding in courses to the collection you can always just share the individual courses with the users who have already completed the collection. Learn how to share courses.
If you need help understanding collections please contact our team on firstname.lastname@example.org