Course Settings

There are 2 types of courses inside Intuto. We cover the settings of each course type below.

Types of courses:

Intuto Course

Once you have created your Intuto course in the course editor and get to the Settings page you will see a screen similar to example below. Following this example you will see what each of these settings allow you to do.

Course settings

Cover Image

This is the image that users will see on the Content page, giving them some context as to what the course is about. An example of what this looks like can be seen below.
kb-user-login-list-view-1-course-not-started
Learn how to change the Cover Image for your course here.

Allow comments

This setting allows users to add comments to the bottom of each page in your course.  See what this looks like below.

Note: All users enrolled in the course will be able to see comments from other users in the course. Users can edit or delete their own comments. Site administrators can edit or delete all comments.

kb-user-login-post-comment-in-course

Make available to existing users

This allows all existing users in your Intuto site to access this course by self-registering through their account. See below how any course that the user is enrolled in shows at the top of the page and any course that is available to existing users shows at the bottom where they can Gain Access to it.

kb-user-login-gain-access-to-course

Require users to redo this course

This will notify users that they have to complete the course again after the course is published. This is useful when your course update has important information added that all users must complete to stay up to date.

Note: This will reset all user progress, putting all users currently enrolled back to the Register status.

Create a shareable link

  • Allow self-registration
    This sets up a link that you can share with your users who will be able to click on the link to self-register into the course. You can choose to have an expiry date on this link so users are required to register before a certain date or you can leave it blank so the link will be valid forever.
  • Public link
    This sets up a link that you can share with your users who will be able to click on the link to access the course without signing into Intuto. 

Warning: A public link means that user progress through a course cannot be tracked. If user tracking/reporting is required, users must set up an account in the system.

Enrolment Expiry

This allows you to let Intuto handle user re-enrolments into courses. This means that you can set your course up and the Intuto system will mange the process. You can set the course to expire every 3, 6, 12, 18, 24, 36 or 48 months.

  • Remind participants of Renewal
    Once you have selected the option to have your course expire, you can select whether you would like the system to send a reminder email to your users about the expiry of the course and the need to take the course again. Reminders can be sent out 1 week, 2 weeks, 1 month or 3 months before expiry.

 

SCORM Course

When you have uploaded your SCORM package into the course editor and get to the Settings page you will see a screen similar to the example below. Under this example you will see what each of these settings allow you to do.

kb-scorm-course-settings

Cover Image

This is the image that users will see on the Content page, giving them some context as to what the course is about. An example of what this looks like can be seen below.
kb-user-login-list-view-1-course-not-started
Learn how to change the Cover Image for you course here.

Make available to existing users

This allows all existing users in your Intuto site to access this course by self-registering through their account. See in the example below how any course that the user is enrolled in shows at the top of the page and any course that is available to existing users shows at the bottom where they can Gain Access to it.

kb-user-login-gain-access-to-course

Open course in a new window

This is useful when your SCORM package states at the end that you can close the browser upon completion. If you tick this setting your SCORM course will always open in a new window as seen below. Otherwise it will open in the current tab and users may accidentally close their browser after completing the course if your SCORM package instructs them to do so. We strongly recommend this option is used. 

kb-content-page-user-logged-in-open-scorm-course-in-new-window

Require users to redo this course

This will notify users that they have to complete the course again after the course is published. This is useful when your course update has important information added that all users must complete to stay up to date.

Note: This will reset all user progress, putting all users currently enrolled back to the Register status.

Create a shareable link

  • Allow self-registration
    This sets up a link that you can share with your users who will be able to click on that link to self-register into the course. You can choose to have an expiry date on this link so users have to register before a certain date or you can leave it blank so the link will be valid forever.
  • Public Link
    This option is not currently available for SCORM courses.

Enrolment Expiry

  • None
    Selecting None will mean your course does not expire - users will be able to view the course again whenever they like.
  • Re-enrol your users periodically to keep compliance
    Selecting this option will mean a users enrollment into the course will expire and be renewed periodically. Each time the course renews, the user will need to complete it again.
    Once you have selected the option to have your course renew, you can select whether you would like the system to send a reminder email to your users about the expiry of the course and the need to take the course again. Reminders can be sent out 1 week, 2 weeks, 1 month or 3 months before expiry.
  • Limit access to the course for a set amount of time
    Selecting this option will allow you to choose a set number of days that the users will have access to the course once registered. Once the number of days has passed, a user will see a message advising that the access to this course has expired. You can extend or reduce the number of days a user has access once they have been enrolled - learn more about this process here.

    Note: when a course is changed from not having limited time to having limited time, all users in Registered or In Progress status will get the limited time applied to them, starting from when the courses is published.   

    If the time is changed, this will NOT effect any existing users and will only be applied to new users.

Note: Limit access to the course for a set amount of time is a feature currently in beta. If you would like access to this feature, please contact us at support@intuto.com.

Contact us on support@intuto.com for help or further information.